UPM Champion Of Two Categories At Inaugural MOHE Entrepreneurial Awards | Universiti Putra Malaysia
» NEWS » UPM champion of two categories at inaugural MOHE Entrepreneurial Awards

UPM champion of two categories at inaugural MOHE Entrepreneurial Awards

KUALA LUMPUR, 5 Dec – Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) won two awards at the first edition of the Ministry of Higher Education, (MOHE) Entrepreneurial Awards (MEA) 2012, in the Entrepreneurial Impact and Best Student Enterprise categories, beating five other public institutes of higher learning (IPTA) finalists.

UPM walked away with RM50,000 cash prize (Entrepreneurial Impact), and a RM20,000 cash prize (Best Student Enterprises), a trophy and a certificate of appreciation respectively. UPM was the only university that won in two categories.

Deputy Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and UPM Alumni, Prof. Dato’ Ir Dr. Mohd Saleh, along with students from the Faculty of Agriculture, UPM, Mohd Afiq Ariff, Wan Mohamad Fazdli Hussaini, Wan Mohamad Yusoff and Muhd Nur As Shabah Mohamed received the prize on behalf of UPM from the Minister of Higher Education, Dato’ Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin at the MOHE Entrepreneurial University of the Year Awards 2012, held here.


When commenting on the UPM success, Prof. Dato’ Ir Dr. Mohd Saleh said the university’s strength lies in embracing entrepreneurship in every aspect of student life, with strong support from the Centre of Entrepreneurship Innovation and Student Development (CEISeD), Centre for Extension, Entrepreneurship and Professional Advancement (APEEC) as well as the research carried out by institute and faculty.

Mohd Afiq Ariff said their project on red tilapia cage breeding must have attracted the jury’s interest.

Apart from the overall category prize worth RM150,000, which went to Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM), the competition organized by MOHE also had five other categories for Innovative Entrepreneurial Teaching and Learning, Innovative and Entrepreneurial Staff, Entrepreneurial Impact, Student Engagement, Institutional Environment with each category offering a RM50,000 cash prize, a trophy and a certificate of appreciation to the winner. There was also a special award for Best Student (Enterprise/Business Startup).

The entrepreneurial award, open to local institutes of higher learning, was established last August when entrepreneurship became a critical agenda under the National Strategic Plan.

The first edition of MEA is part of the government’s effort to encourage all IPTAs to focus on developing entrepreneurship and promoting it as a leading career choice.

The competition has become an arena for the development of entrepreneurship education in IPTAs and duly recognizes public institutions of higher learning that display resilience and excellence in the development of entrepreneurship in their respective institutions.

Other IPTA finalists included Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM), Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UNIMAP), Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM), Universiti Teknikal Malaysia (UTeM) and Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM).

Also present at the event were MOHE Secretary General, Datuk Ab. Rahim Md. Noor, UPM Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic and International), Datin Paduka Aini Ideris, and Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research and Innovation), Prof. Dato’ Ir Dr. Mohd Salleh Jaafar.

News by Khairul Anuar and Muhamad Najkhan, phto by Marina Ismail.

Date of Input: | Updated: | hairul_nizam


Universiti Putra Malaysia
43400 UPM Serdang
Selangor Darul Ehsan
+603-9769 1000